Super Cup 2018 Final: Bengaluru FC beat East Bengal to lift inaugural trophy

Bengaluru FC
The Sunil Chhetri-led team defeated the Kolkata side 4-1 in the final to win their fifth trophy in as many seasons...

Bengaluru FC won the 2018 Super Cup by defeating East Bengal 4-1 in the final played at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar, Odisha on Friday.

The JSW Group-owned side had earlier ended their Indian Super League (ISL) campaign as runners-up to Chennaiyin FC in the final played over a month ago.

BFC GFX Super CUp 2018

However, they maintained their run of lifting a trophy each season since their inception in 2013/14 with their Super Cup victory. The knock-out competition was introduced by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) to replace the Federation Cup, which incidentally was won by Bengaluru FC last season.

The Blues entered the tournament in the Round-of-16 phase. They first came from behind to defeat Gokulam Kerala FC 2-1 and then emerged 3-1 winners over I-League runners-up NEROCA FC in the quarter-final.

East Bengal Bengaluru FC Super Cup 2018 Final

In the semi-final, they faced former I-League rivals Mohun Bagan. They won the game 4-2 despite being a goal and a man down in the first half. 

Meeting another familiar opponent in the final, Bengaluru FC defeated East Bengal 4-1. In a similar start, they let the opposition score first but managed to score four goals to lift the trophy in trying conditions.

Venezuelan striker Miku was adjudged as the 'Hero of the Tournament' for his five goals. Captain Sunil Chhetri managed to score six goals with both of them having registered a hat-trick each.

BFC GFX Super CUp 2018

Albert Roca managed to win his first match against East Bengal in his third attempt. Also, this was the fourth time the Spanish coach had led the Bengaluru-based club to final. After losing the 2016 AFC Cup final and the 2017/18 ISL final, this was the former FC Barcelona assistant manager's second triumph after winning last season's Federation Cup. They will, however, miss out on an AFC Cup spot for the first time in four seasons since the inaugural edition of the Super Cup does not have an Asian ticket as winner's reward.