Alexis Sanchez finished low past Thibaut Courtois to give the Gunners the perfect start, but he arguably could've been whistled for handball, or Aaron Ramsey for offside due to his position behind the defenders.
The Chilean appeared to block a Chelsea clearance with his arm before Ramsey, in an offside position, briefly made a play for the ball before backing off and allowing Sanchez to take the ball from an onside position and score.
A controversial moment here as Sanchez scored but the goal initially looked to have been disallowed. #FACupFinal— Chelsea FC (@ChelseaFC) May 27, 2017
Ramsey was clearly offside as Sanchez burst through but was deemed not to be interfering with play. #FACupFinal— Chelsea FC (@ChelseaFC) May 27, 2017
However, not everyone was enraged with referee Anthony Taylor's decision and Arsenal were among the happy tweeters after the belated decision to award the goal at Wembley.
Don't understand how Ramsey's not active there? He made a move towards the ball #FACupFinal— James nellist (@james_nellist) May 27, 2017
Good refereeing there! #FACupFinal— Ry. (@TheFallenGiants) May 27, 2017
Well done referee game on!!!! #FACupFinal— Matt Cook (@Cookmtt1976) May 27, 2017
Superb officiating on the biggest stage. Calm and composed under such pressure #FACupFinal— Michael Nairn (@mickynairn) May 27, 2017