News Live Scores
World Cup

Oumar Niasse misses out as Senegal release final World Cup squad

2:37 AM GMT+8 18/05/2018
Oumar Niasse Everton
The Teranga Lions released the names of players that will represent the country in their first World Cup appearance since 2002

Senegal coach Aliou Cisse has named his final 23-man squad for the 2018 World Cup.

Liverpool forward Sadio Mane, Napoli’s Kalidou Koulibaly and West Ham’s Cheikhou Kouyate headline the invited players for the tournament in Russia, with Everton's Oumar Niasse who scored eight goals in 22 league appearances this season a notable omission alongside Crystal Palace’s Pape Souare.

Niasse's last match for the Teranga Lions was a friendly encounter against Uzbekistan in March where he played for 66 minutes.

Injured Armand Traore who has been on the sidelines since April 19, will also miss the quadrennial showpiece owing to a calf muscle strain.

Meanwhile, Adama Mbengue, Fallou Diagne, Famara Diedhiou, Henri Saivet will join the team in pre-World Cup preparations as reserves until June 4.

The west African country will be making their second appearance in the global showpiece this year and they have been zoned alongside Poland, Colombia and Japan in Group H.

Senegal will begin their 2018 World Cup campaign against Poland at the Otkritie Arena on June 19.

Full squad.

Goalkeepers : Khadime Ndiaye (ASC Diaraf), Alfred Gomis (SPAL), Abdoulaye Diallo (Rennes).

Defenders:   Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli), Salif Sane (Schalke 04), Moussa Wague (Eupen), Lamine Gassama (Alanyaspor), Youssouf Sabaly (Bordeaux), Kara Mbodji (Anderlecht), Saliou Ciss [Valenciennes].

Midfielders: Idrissa Gueye (Everton), Badou Ndiaye (Stoke City), Cheikhou Kouyate (West Ham United), Alfred Ndiaye (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Cheikh Ndoye (Birmingham City).

Forwards: Mame Diouf (Stoke City), Moussa Konate (Amiens), Moussa Sow (Bursaspor), Mbaye Niang (Torino), Diafra Sakho (Rennes), Keita Balde (Monaco), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Ismaila Sarr (Rennes).


Adama Mbengue (Caen), Fallou Diagne (Metz), Famara Diedhiou (Bristol City), Henri Saivet (Sivasspor).