Injured Victor Wanyama makes Kenya squad to face Ghana in Afcon qualifier

Stafford Ondego/Goal Kenya.
Macdonald Mariga has also been named in the provisional squad as well as striker Masoud Juma, formerly of Cape Town City

Injured Victor Wanyama is among 19 foreign-based players summoned by Harambee Stars coach Sébastien Migné ahead of Afcon qualifier against Ghana.

The game against the Black Stars will be staged on September 8, 2018, at the MISC Kasarani. The Tottenham midfielder picked an injury during Spurs' pre-season tour of the USA and was forced to return to London for treatment.

But despite the fact that Wanyama is expected to sit out for at least four weeks, Migne has still named him in his 38-man provisional squad.

Local-based players are set to hit camp on September 2, 2018, ahead of the tie, with their foreign-based counterparts scheduled to link up with the team starting September 3, 2018.

Full Squad: Goalkeepers: Ian Otieno (Red Arrows, Zambia), Patrick Matasi (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks) and Farouk Shikalo (Bandari).

Article continues below

Defenders: Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Joseph Okumu (AFC Ann Arbor, USA), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia) and Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United).

Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Totenham Hotspurs, England), Mc Donald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Ismael Gonzales (CF Fuenlabrada, Spain), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards) and Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia).

Forwards: Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Masud Juma (Un-attached), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka) and Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz).