Messi & Ronaldo headline FIFPro World 11 for 11th consecutive year

FIFPro World 11
Michael Steele
The star duo share the record for most appearances in the side, which is once again dominated by Barcelona and Real Madrid players

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have taken their place in the FIFPro World 11 for the 11th year running. 

Messi 10/3 to be CL top scorer

Messi was the leading vote-getter in the team that was selected by 26,622 players from 71 countries in a vote organized by FIFPro, the world’s player union. 

Ronaldo, who won FIFA's Men's Player of the Year award, was among five Real Madrid players named to the side, as the Blancos unsurprisingly dominated the team after winning La Liga and the Champions League in 2016-17.

This year's FIFPro World 11 contains eight of the same players who featured in last year's side, with Gianluigi Buffon, Leonardo Bonucci and Neymar the new additions replacing Manuel Neuer, Gerard Pique and Luis Suarez. 

Bonucci, who moved from Juventus to AC Milan in the off-season, is the only player of the 11 making his first appearance in the FIFPro World 11.

The Italian was among three players named to the side who transferred in the off-season, with Neymar and Dani Alves both making the move to Paris Saint-Germain from Barcelona and Juventus, respectively. 

The FIFPro World 11 was decided based on performances during the 2016-17 season meaning that despite their transfers, that trio was selected for their performances with their previous clubs. 

Because of the criteria, only three clubs were represented in the FIFPro World 11: Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus. 

FIFPro World XI 2017

2016-17 FIFPro World 11:

Goalkeeper:  Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus)

Article continues below

Defenders:  Dani Alves (Brazil, Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy, Juventus/AC Milan), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)

Midfielders:  Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona)

Forwards:  Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Neymar (Brazil, Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)