Ramos, Marcelo and De Gea round out FIFA 18's Team of the Year

Comments (0)
David de Gea Manchester United
Getty Images
The Real Madrid and Manchester United stars were voted in by athletes, media and members of the EA Sports FIFA community in the annual best XI

Sergio Ramos, Leonardo Bonucci, Marcelo, Dani Alves and David de Gea have been named in the FIFA 18 Team of the Year, as the video game completed its star-studded XI by unveiling the defenders and goalkeeper on Wednesday.

The quartet of defenders made the final cut after the field had been narrowed to 20 nominees, with Barcelona's Gerard Pique, Paris Saint-Germain's Thiago Silva, Chelsea's Marcos Alonso and Manchester United's Antonio Valencia among those missing out.

De Gea, meanwhile, emerged from a group of five goalkeepers that also included Juventus legend Gianluigi Buffon and Tottenham's Hugo Lloris.

Ramos and Marcelo inclusions mean Real Madrid have four representatives in the Team of the Year, with Luka Modric and Cristiano Ronaldo included when FIFA announced the squad's midfielders and strikers earlier in the week.

Bonucci, Alves and De Gea are the only players from AC Milan, PSG and Manchester United in the final XI, which also features Barcelona star Lionel Messi, Spurs' Harry Kane, Chelsea's N'Golo Kante and Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne.

Article continues below

FIFA 18 Team of the Year

Based on their real-life performances throughout 2017, the total list of 55 nominees was whittled down to the final XI based on votes from athletes, media and members of the EA Sports FIFA community.

EA Sports sent a ballot box to eligible voters, who picked their team in a 4-3-3 formation and submitted their choices by sharing a picture of the selection on social media with the hashtag #TOTYVote.