Arsenal team news: Wilshere and Iwobi return for Gunners at Brighton

Getty Images
Arsene Wenger will be hoping for a positive response from his side following back-to-back defeats against Manchester City

Arsene Wenger has opted to freshen up his Arsenal side after falling under mounting pressure, with Jack Wilshere and Alex Iwobi coming back in against Brighton.

The Gunners boss has left Hector Bellerin on the bench, with the Spaniard having previously started every single one of Arsenal's Premier League games so far this season, playing more minutes than goalkeeper Petr Cech in all competitions.

Aaron Ramsey is also rested ahead of the Europa League quarter-final match against AC Milan at San Siro on Thursday, while Calum Chambers comes in to replace Bellerin at right-back.

Highly-rated youngster Eddie Nketiah is on the substitutes bench, while Danny Welbeck and Mohamed Elneny are also among the options in waiting for Wenger.

Brighton, meanwhile, named an unchanged side following their thumping 4-1 win over Swansea City last time out that helped ease their relegation fears.

The hosts are currently 12th in the Premier League table but only four points clear of 18th-placed Crystal Palace.

Brighton starting XI: Ryan; Schelotto, Bong, Dunk, Duffy; Knockaert, Stephens, Propper, Izquierdo; Gross; Murray.

Article continues below

Subs: Krul, Goldson, Bruno, Kayal, March, Ulloa, Locadia.

Arsenal starting XI: Cech; Chambers, Koscielny, Mustafi, Kolasinac; Mkhitaryan, Wilshere, Xhaka, Iwobi; Ozil; Aubameyang.

Subs: Ospina, Holding, Maitland-Niles, Elneny, Nketiah, Welbeck.

Next article:
'I'll show all of you!' - Solskjaer claims Alexis will 'love it' if Arsenal fans turn on him
Next article:
'Beating Chelsea did Arsenal no favours' - Gunners not good enough for multiple challenges, says Merson
Next article:
'Salah was better than Messi & Ronaldo in 2018' - Liverpool legend hoping to avoid Suarez & Torres repeat
Next article:
Carabao Cup 2019 final: How to watch, tickets, teams, time & date
Next article:
Carabao Cup 2018-19: Fixtures, teams, draw dates & all you need to know