Kenya 1-0 Equatorial Guinea: Harambee Stars win under Sebastien Migne
Goal Kenya.
It is a morale booster for the East African side that is preparing for the Afcon qualifying match against Ghana in September

A second half strike by Wazito striker Piston Mutamba was all Harambee Stars needed to down Equatorial Guinea in a friendly played on Monday.

Goalkeeper Patrick Matasi and midfielder Kenneth Muguna were given starts as Kenya looked for a win. It was the visitors, who started well, putting the Sebastian Migne led side into pressure, and they were rewarded a free-kick in the second minute that was taken by Pablo Ganet, but it was easily cleared.

That was a motivation by the opponents, and they continued pushing for an opener which almost came in the 8th minute. Equatorial Guinea won a corner which was cleverly played in, and it was headed on target, only for Patrick Matasi to make a goal line clearance.

Francis Kahata was the first one to be booked in the eleventh minute after needlessly committing a foul in the middle of the pitch. The Stars came close after a quarter an hour; they won corner that was played in by Kahata and Jockins Atudo nodded it in, beating the goalkeeper in the process, only for the defender to clear it.

The talking point in the first half came in the 33rd minute; Joash Onyango mistimed his tackle and fouled Basilio Ndong, only for referee Andrew Juma to decide otherwise and book the latter for assimilation.

In a bid to get a goal, Ovella Ochieng was introduced in the second half, taking a place of the ineffective Kenneth Muguna. The Kariobangi Sharks man brought new life in the team.

The Gor Mahia target proved to be a perfect replacement as he created a goal in the 72nd minute. He went past his marker on the right and brought in a good cross that was tapped in by Wazito FC forward Piston Mutamba.

Equatorial Guinea could have scored a late goal but a well-timed Fernando Garcia header hit the bar, with Matasi well beaten.

Kenya XI: Patrick Matasi (GK), Jockins Atudo, Musa Mohammed, Joash Onyango, Eric Ouma, Philemon Otieno,  Duncan Otieno, Whyvonne Isuza, Francis Kahata, Kenneth Muguna and Pistone Mutamba.

Article continues below

Subs: Boniface Oluoch (GK), Timothy Odhiambo (GK), Bolton Omwenga, Harun Shakava, Vincent Wasambo, Jafari Owiti, Chrispin Oduor, Humphrey Mieno, Ovella Ochieng, Patilah Omotto, Mike Kibwage and Johnstone Omurwa.

Equatorial Guinea XI: Felipe Ovono (GK), Federico Obana, Cosme Anvene, Fernando Rui Da Gracia, Esteban Orozco, Valeriano Nchama, Federico Bicoro, Pablo Ganet, Iban Salvador, Nicolas Kata Senga and Basilio Ndong.

Subs: Pascacio Ebea (GK), Pensy Achille, Luis Enrique Nsue, Mariano Ondo, Benjamin Edu Ndong, Saul Coco Bassey and Pedro Asu Mbengono.

Comments ()