News Live Scores
CAF Confederation Cup

SuperSport United miss out on Caf award nomination, while Banyana and Kgatlana remain in the running

6:22 PM GMT+4 18/12/2017
Jeremy Brockie, Thuso Phala & Teboho Mokoena , SuperSport United
The Confederation of African Football (Caf) has unveiled their final shortlist for the upcoming continental awards

SuperSport United may have experienced a historical feat on the African continent as they reached the Caf Confederation Cup final for the very first time this year, but it has not been enough for them to make it among the top three clubs shortlisted for the 2017 Caf Club of the Year Award.

On Monday afternoon, African football’s mother body unveiled the finalists for the 2017 awards, and it has been a been a bag of differing fortunes for South African players and clubs.

Matsatsantsa were most recently nominated as a preliminary candidate for the award, but after they suffered defeat in the final, and subsequently, they've been pipped to the post by eventual winners of the second-tier competition TP Mazembe, along with the two Caf Champions league finalists in Wydad Casablanca and Egyptian giants Al Ahly.

Meanwhile, Banyana Banyana continue to fly the South African flag high as their impressive exploits were rewarded with a nomination for the Women’s Team of the Year award, and they are joined on the list by Chrestina Kgatlana, who finds herself in illustrious competition as she has been nominated for the Women’s Player of the Year accolade.

However, a notable absentee from the list of nominees was South Africa international Luther Singh, who was also missed out on a nomination for the Youth Player of the Year Award. The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

Here’s a full list of the finalists for the 2017 Caf Awards as per Caf’s official website:

African Player of the Year

·       Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

·       Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

·       Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool) 

Women’s Player of the Year

·       Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

·       Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

·       Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year

·       Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)

·       Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

·       Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Coach of the Year

·       Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

·       Hector Cuper (Egypt)

·       L'Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year

·       Al Ahly

·       TP Mazembe

·       Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year

·       Cameroon

·       Egypt

·       Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year

·       Ghana U-20

·       Nigeria U-20

·       South Africa