News Live Scores
South Africa U23 v Zimbabwe U23

Sam and Foster headline Notoane's squad for SA U23 Afcon qualifier against Zimbabwe

1:20 PM GMT+4 21/08/2019
Bongani Sam, Orlando Pirates, July 2019
The three players are among the most experienced in the current squad that will take on Zimbabwe in the final round of the qualifiers

Head coach of the South African Olympic Team, David Notoane, has named a strong 25-man squad to face Zimbabwe in the third and final round of the 2019 U23 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

South Africa and Zimbabwe face off in the first leg on Thursday, 5 September at Milpark Stadium in Johannesburg. Kickoff is at 19h00.

The third and final round qualifiers have been rescheduled from June to September as they were too close to the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, which took place in June.

Notoane has kept the bulk of the team which defeated Angola 6-1 on aggregate in the last round in March this year – calling up seven overseas-based players from Latvia, Portugal, England, France and Denmark.

Notoane and his charges assemble for camp in Johannesburg on Sunday, September 1.

The second leg is scheduled for Zimbabwe on Sunday, 8 September at the National Sports Stadium in Harare at 15h00.

South Africa travels to Zimbabwe on Friday, 6 September.

The fixtures for the final round are as follows:

- South Africa vs Zimbabwe
- Zambia vs Congo
- Ghana vs Algeria
- Cameroon vs Tunisia
- Cote d’Ivoire vs Guinea
- Sudan vs Nigeria
- Morocco vs Mali

The round will be played on a home and away basis, with the seven winners joining hosts Egypt for the final tournament scheduled for 8-22 November.

The top three finishers in the competition will represent Africa at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

SA U23 squad in full: 

Goalkeepers: Mondli Mpoto (Bloemfontein Celtic), Darren Johnson, Andile Mbanjwa (Richards Bay)

Defenders: Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs), Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City), Sandile Mthethwa (Chippa United), Kabelo Seriba (FC Metta, Latvia), Sibusiso Mabiliso (AmaZulu), Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates), Tercious Malepe (Chippa United).

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United), Athenkosi Dlala (University of Pretoria), Gift Links (Cape Town City), Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kamohelo Mahlatsi (SuperSport United), Grant Margeman (Ajax Cape Town), Jamie Webber (SuperSport United), Sipho Mbule (SuperSport United), Thabo Cele (Cova da Piedade FC, Portugal), Khaya Leshabela (Leicester City, England)

Strikers: Luther Singh (Moreirense FC, Portugal), Jemondre Dickens (Baroka FC), Lyle Foster (Monaco, France), Liam Jordan (HB Koge FC, Denmark), Kobamelo Kodisang (Sporting Braga, Portugal)