News Live Scores

Nasarawa Amazons emerge 2017 Nigeria Women Premier League champions

8:55 PM GMT+4 14/10/2017
Nasarawa Amazons
The Amazons defeated Delta Queens to emerge champions of the 2017 women's topflight league Super Four tournament played in Benin

Nasarawa Amazons have been crowned champions of the 2017 Nigeria Women Premier League after defeating Delta Queens 1-0 at the Super Four tournament held in Benin.

The Amazons had defeated Bayelsa Queens 1-0, holders Rivers Angels 2-1 and drew 2-2 with Delta Queens in the round-robin games before edging the Kwale based side to the league crown.

Amarachi Okoronkwo's 42nd minute diving header handed the Christopher Danjuma's ladies their second trophy in history after their first in 2013.

Joy Jegede had the first chance to put the Delta side in front but her effort from the free kick spot was saved by Chioma Nwankwo in the 15th minute.

In the 17th minute, Nasarawa came close when Esther Victor set up Adejoke Ejalonibu, who shot from 25 yards but her attempt was easily taken by goalkeeper Rita Akarekor.

Jegede yet secured another free kick in a dangerous position on the edge of the Nasarawa's box but her low drive was calmly saved by goalkeeper Nwankwo.

In the 42nd minute, Anam Imo sent in a powerful cross into the area and Okoronkwo wasted no time to head home from close range to put the Lafia side in front.

On the return from recess, Chinyere Igboamalu almost doubled Nasarawa lead after she sneaked into the 18-yard box but failed to make her chance count in the 47th minute.

In the 72nd minute, Maryann Ezenagu forced her way past the Nasarawa's defense but her effort was easily saved by substitute goalkeeper Uchenna Chukwu.

In the last 10 minutes, Delta increasingly pressed hard to find a leveler through Ijeoma Obi and substitute Jennifer Ajuyah but Nasarawa held on to snatch victory.

The win means Nasarawa Amazons are champions, carting away the trophy and 3.5 million naira cash prize, while runners-up Delta Queens and third place winners Bayelsa got 2.5 and 1.5 million naira respectively.