News Live Scores
United States

Morris and Agudelo in, Wondolowski out as Arena trims U.S. roster ahead of Serbia friendly

10:12 PM GMT+4 27/01/2017
Jordan Morris Seattle Sounders MLS 11272016
MLS Cup winner Jordan Morris and Juan Agudelo were among the 23 players named to the U.S. roster for Sunday's friendly against Serbia.

CARSON, Calif. — Bruce Arena sent a handful of youngsters and one veteran home from the U.S. national team's January camp ahead of Sunday's friendly against Serbia.

World Cup forward Chris Wondolowski and national team camp rookies Keegan Rosenberry and Taylor Kemp were among the players left out of Arena's squad for the friendly, which will be played at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego.

Jordan Morris and Juan Agudelo made the cut ahead of Wondolowski, who at 33 might be at the end of his national team career. Morris, 22, is fresh off winning an MLS Cup, while Agudelo, 24, is enjoying a career renaissance with the New England Revolution.

LA Galaxy goalkeeper Brian Rowe and Columbus Crew midfielder Wil Trapp also were left out of the squad for the Serbia friendly. LA Galaxy forward Gyasi Zardes suffered a minor knee contusion in camp and will miss the match.

Among the players to earn spots on the squad are recently traded Chicago Fire midfielder Dax McCarty, FC Dallas defender Walker ZImmerman and Galaxy midfielder Sebastian Lletget.

Benny Feilhaber, who made waves a year ago after publicly bashing then-U.S. coach Jurgen Klinsmann for his national team roster selections, also made the cut.

The U.S. faces Serbia on Sunday before traveling to Chattanooga, Tennessee, to face Jamaica on Feb. 3.

Here is the 23-man roster for Sunday's friendly against Serbia:

GOALKEEPERS: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

DEFENDERS: DaMarcus Beasley (Unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders), Jorge Villafana (Santos Laguna), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (LA Galaxy), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union)

FORWARDS: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders)