Mamelodi Sundowns' Percy Tau and Pitso Mosimane up for top PSL awards

The nominees for the eagerly anticipated 2017/18 PSL Awards have been revealed at a press conference on Monday

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has announced the nominees for the 2017/18 PSL Awards at a press conference hosted at their headquarters on Monday.

The awards ceremony which is set to be hosted on May 29, has been making headlines of late as coaches, pundits and fans voice their opinions on who they think is most deserving of recognition.

Meanwhile, as expected Mamelodi Sundowns star Percy Tau headlines the nominations as he is in contention to be named PSL Footballer of the Season alongside teammate Hlompho Kekana and Maritzburg United star Siphesihle Ndlovu, who has been one of the key players in the Team of Choice’s formidable attack.

In terms of the season’s cup competitions,  Forward Jeremy Brockie has been nominated for his exploits in the MTN 8, for his role in SuperSport United’s quest for glory, and while it may have been a disappointing league season for Bidvest Wits, their Telkom Knockout Cup triumph has seen them dominate the TKO nominations, with Darren Keet and the departed Amr Gamal both nominated.

Nonetheless, in arguably the most talked about category ahead of the awards, Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane has made the final cut and is up for the top coaching award after guiding the Brazilians to an eighth crown. The 53-year-old is joined on the list by Orlando Pirates’ Milutin Sredojevic and Maritzburg’s up and coming coach Fadlu Davids.

Here are all the nominees in their respective categories:

PSL Footballer of the Season: 

Hlompho Kekana, Percy Tau, Siphesihle Ndlovu

PSL Players' Player of the Season:

Siphesihle Ndlovu, Percy Tau, Musa Nyatama

PSL Goalkeeper of the Season: 

Itumeleng Khune, Richard Ofori, Denis Onyango

PSL Defender of the Season:

Bevan Fransman, Innocent Maela, Siyanda Xulu

PSL Midfielder of the Season: 

Siphesihle Ndlovu, Hlompho Kekana, Musa Nyatama

PSL Young Player of the Season:

Siphesihle Ndlovu, Teboho Mokoena, Sibusiso Mabiliso

PSL Coach of the Season:

Fadlu Davids, Pitso Mosimane, Milutin Sredojevic

MTN8 – Last Man Standing:

Jeremy Brockie - during his time at SuperSport United

Thabo Nodada - Cape Town City

Ronwen Williams - SuperSport United

Telkom Knockout Player Of The Tournament:

Amr Gamal - Bidvest Wits

Darren Keet - Bidvest Wits

Lantshane Phalane - Bloemfontein Celtic

Nedbank Most Promising Player:

Lebohang Maboe - Maritzburg United

Nyiko Mobbie - Free State Stars

Siphesihle Ndlovu - Maritzburg United

Nedbank Player Of The Tournament:

Lebohang Maboe - Maritzburg United

Andrea Fileccia - Maritzburg United

Thela Ngobeni - Free State Stars

Absa Premiership top scorer:

Percy Tau, Rodney Ramagalela

NFD Top Goalscorer:

Peter Shalulile, Mwape Musonda

MDC Player of the Season: 

Siboniso Conco, Given Thibedi, Molahlehi Khunyedi 

MDS Player of the Tournament: 

Article continues below

Luke Moses, Itumeleng Shopane, Promise Mkhuma