FEATURE: Kaizer Chiefs' Nedbank Cup record since their triumph in 2013

Goal takes a look at Amakhosi's record in the Nedbank Cup since 2013

Kaizer Chiefs are the most decorated club in the country, but they have enjoyed little success in almost four seasons.

The Soweto giants, who lasted tasted success in 2015 when they won the PSL title, have set their sights on ending their trophy drought by winning this year's Nedbank Cup.

A quarter-final clash against Cape Town City awaits Amakhosi at the 2010 Fifa World Cup venue, Mbombela Stadium which is Chiefs' preferred home ground for the match this weekend.

Itumeleng Khune ,Stuart Baxter and Siboniso Gaxa during the Nedbank Cup semi final

Chiefs are the most successful club in the history of the tournament with 13 titles, but the last time they won the lucrative competition was in 2013 under the guidance of coach Stuart Baxter.

Since then the Naturena-based giants have never made it past the semi-finals.

A year after clinching the trophy, Amakhosi reached the last four where they were defeated by Bidvest Wits, who won 4-2 on penalties following a 2-2 draw at the Bidvest Stadium.

In 2015, Chiefs were embarrassingly dumped out of the competition by a lower division side in the Last 16.

Bernard Parker PS

Amakhosi succumbed to a 2-1 defeat to Black Leopards, who were campaigning in the National First Division (NFD) at the time.

Before suffering an early exit from the tournament the following year when they were defeated 2-0 by their Soweto rivals, Orlando Pirates in front of a packed FNB Stadium. 

Chiefs then enjoyed a good Cup run in 2016 as they reached the quarter-finals where they were defeated by eventual champions SuperSport United, who won 5-3 on penalties following a 1-1 draw.

Steve Komphela

Article continues below

Last year, Amakhosi went one step further as they eased into the semi-finals but were stunned 2-0 by Free State Stars which saw Steve Komphela resign after violence erupted at the end of the match.

Since winning the Nedbank Cup six years ago, the Glamour Boys have played 16 matches in the tournament - recording eleven victories and five defeats.

Nine of the 16 games were at home - registering six wins and three defeats including the defeat to Free State Stars at the Moses Mabhida Stadium.