News Live Scores

Abia Warriors win a boost for Heartland’s Federation Cup campaign, says Ere Dokubo

3:58 AM GMT+4 09/09/2018
Heartland Starting XI
The Naze Millionaires tactician has expressed his happiness at their away win against Abia Warriors ahead of Federation Cup campaign

Heartland head coach, Ere Dokubo has stressed that their friendly match win against Abia Warriors is a morale booster ahead of their Sunday’s Federation Cup Round of 64 tie against Cofine FC of Uyo.

The Naze Millionaires secured their first ever away win on Thursday against the Warriors who have beaten them twice in Owerri in the Nigeria Professional Football League in recent seasons and Dokubo who guided his team to achieve the feat is thrilled with the victory.

Evans Iyoro’s first-half goal was enough to hand a crucial win to the Owerri side and Dokubo while reviewing the game disclosed that they were happy with the win and that it has gone a long way in confirming that they are set for their Federation Cup clash with Cofine in Port Harcourt on Sunday.

“I want to inform you that there is no easy match and that game with Abia Warriors was a tough one,” Dokubo told Goal.

“I am happy that we were able to beat them in Umuahia because it is what we have always struggled to do in the past and it is to show that we are doing something right since we took over. We used the game to assess our preparations for the Federation Cup competition and I can say that we are on course.

“It was a very tactical game but the wet pitch didn’t allow for free flow of the game also. I am thrilled that my boys were able to withstand the heat after getting the only goal and they held on until the very end.”

Heartland have won the Federation Cup on three occasions in the past in 1988, 2011 and 2012 but they have failed to progress to the quarter-final since they last won it six years ago.




Akwa United- Hope of Glory            Port Harcourt

Kano Pillars Feeders-Crown FC        Minna        

Kwara United- All-Stars (Ogun)       Ibadan     

Nyansagwana (Taraba)-FC IfeanyiUbah Abuja

Ngwa United (Ebonyi)- Kano Pillars       Lokoja

Doma United (Gombe)- J. Atete (Delta) Makurdi

Dan Masari (Kebbi)- Go Round              Abuja

Gombe United- Dynamite                       Lafia

Cofine (Akwa Ibom)- Heartland            Port Harcourt

Shooting Stars-Supreme Court               Benin

Wikki Tourist-Crime Busters                 Lafia

George Turnah (Bayelsa)-Nasarawa Utd Enugu

Katsina United Feeders- Jigawa Golden Stars Kaduna

Smart City (Lagos)-Abia Warriors      Warri

Aklosendi (Nasarawa)-FRSC (Abuja)  Lokoja

Katsina United- Madagali Utd              Jos

Enugu Rangers-Niger Tornadoes Feeders  Ibadan

Sunshine Stars-FC Ifeanyi Ubah Feeders    Benin

Delta Stars-Kogi United                          Akure

Rivers United-Gusau Eleven (Zamfara)  Lafia

Samba FC (Jigawa)-El Kanemi Warriors Damaturu

Bayelsa United- Fasbir (Sokoto)             Ilorin

Lobi Stars-Standard FC (Kaduna)     Snake Island (Nasarawa)

ABS FC – Kebbi United                    Minna

Yobe Desert Stars-DMD FC (Borno)  Gombe

Sokoto United- MFM                        Lokoja

Bendel Insurance- Remo Stars         Akure

Zabgai (Bauchi)-Plateau United       Kaduna

Ekiti United- Mighty Jets                 Minna

Wasiu Alabelewe (Osun)-Enyimba  Warri

FC Minda (Benue)-Osun United       Benin

Chief of Staff (Adamawa)- Niger Tornadoes  Jos