News Live Scores
United States

Klingenberg returns as USWNT names first squad of 2018

10:18 PM WAT 03/01/2018
Meghan Klingenberg USWNT Friendly 08162015
U.S. coach Jill Ellis has called in 26 players to a squad that will face Denmark on Jan. 21 in San Diego

U.S. national team coach Jill Eliis has named 26 players for the squad's January camp, with veteran Meghan Klingenberg returning to the mix.

The U.S. will start training Saturday in Carson, California, with the camp building toward a friendly against Denmark on Jan. 21 at San Diego County Credit Union Stadium.

Ellis' squad is entirely comprised of players who earned call-ups in 2017, with 22 players receiving at least one cap last year. Stanford defender Tierna Davidson and South Carolina forward Savannah McCaskill are the only uncapped players on the roster.

Midfielders Tobin Heath (ankle), Samantha Mewis (knee) and Rose Lavelle (hamstring) are sidelined by injury, while 2015 World Cup winner Klingenberg returns to the squad for the first time since June following a strong season with the NWSL champion Portland Thorns.

"We are very much looking forward to getting the group back together," Ellis said in a news release. "We're expecting a competitive and highly energized camp in Los Angeles as we start this important year for the team. We have a few injuries, so we won't have 100 percent of our core together, but this stretch of testing, training, and a competitive match will provide a good platform to begin 2018."

Here is the full squad:

GOALKEEPERS (4): Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (9): Abby Dahlkemper (NC Courage), Tierna Davidson (Stanford), Sofia Huerta (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns), Kelley O'Hara (Utah Royals), Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), Taylor Smith (NC Courage), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Morgan Brian (Olympique Lyon) Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns), Andi Sullivan (Stanford)

FORWARDS (7): Crystal Dunn (Chelsea), Savannah McCaskill (South Carolina), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (Washington Spirit), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign), Lynn Williams (NC Courage)