News Live Scores
South Africa

Thulani Serero returns as Stuart Baxter announces Bafana Bafana squad to take on Nigeria

10:30 AM WAT 05/11/2018
Bafana Bafana, Thulani Serero
The Bafana mentor has revealed the players that he will take to battle against the Super Eagles in an important Afcon qualifier later this month

South Africa international Thulani Serero’s return to the national team fold has headlined Stuart Baxter’s squad announcement ahead of the all-important 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Nigeria.

Baxter’s squad selection has been marred by a spate of injuries which have seen the likes of Bongani Zungu, Keagan Dolly, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman and Sibusiso Vilakazi among others ruled out.

Nonetheless, it appears that the South Africa Football Association (Safa) and the Bafana coach have been on a mission to mend bridges as Serero finds himself back in the squad.

Serero was reportedly banned from representing South Africa back in February after he refused a Bafana Bafana call-up as he wanted guarantees that he would feature against Senegal in a 2018 Fifa World Cup qualifier last year.

Serero though, seems to have patched things up the Association and will likely be a prominent feature in Baxter’s squad.

Meanwhile, Baxter has also called up Maritzburg United winger Fortune Makaringe and in-form Orlando Pirates playmaker Thembinkosi Lorch. The latter recently bagged a brace as Bucs booked their place in their semi-finals of the Telkom Knockout this past weekend.

Bafana are currently just a point behind log leaders Nigeria, meaning that qualification is still in their hands.

Baxter most recently masterminded a 6-0 thumping of Seychelles before Bafana were held to a goalless draw in the return leg.

Nevertheless, Bafana already boast a win over the Super Eagles in Group E as they opened their campaign with a 2-0 victory in Nigeria.

However, Nigeria will be determined to redeem themselves as they lock horns with Bafana on South African soil at the FNB Stadium on November 17.  

Here is a full list of players called up to Baxter’s latest squad that will assemble for camp on Sunday.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Ronwen Williams, Darren Keet 

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Motjeka Madisha, Siyanda Xulu, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Innocent Maela, S'fiso Hlanti, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thamsanqa Mkhize

Midfielders: Vincent Pule, Lebohang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Fortune Makaringe , Teboho Mokoena, Tiyani Mabunda, Thulani Serero, Thembinkosi Lorch

Forwards: Lebo Mothiba, Percy Tau , Dino Ndlovu, Themba Zwane