'Penalty for Ronaldo!' - Football world divided over Real Madrid star's tumble in Barcelona box

Cristiano Ronaldo Samuel Umtiti
The Portuguese attacker went to ground inside Barca's 18-yard box in the first few minutes and there was no agreement over whether he'd dived

It took just three minutes for a divisive referee decision in Sunday's Clasico as Cristiano Ronaldo went down in the penalty area under a Samuel Umtiti challenge.

The Real Madrid No.7 appeared to be on the receiving end of contact from the Barcelona defender three minutes in - but was it enough contact to justify giving a penalty?

LIVE: Real Madrid vs Barcelona

The officials at the Santiago Bernabeu decided against it - and thousands of football fans made their varied opinions crystal clear on Twitter in the moments afterwards.

Victory in the Spanish capital would revive Barca's Liga hopes, while defeat would see them six points adrift of their Clasico rivals and triumph surely no longer within their grasp.