News Live Scores

Minnesota United selects Abu Danladi with top pick in 2017 MLS draft

9:16 PM WAT 13/01/2017
Abu Danladi Minnesota United
The UCLA forward went to the expansion side with the No. 1 overall pick at the 2017 MLS draft in Los Angeles.

Minnesota United selected UCLA forward Abu Danladi with the No. 1 overall pick in the 2017 MLS draft Friday.

The Ghana native heads to the expansion side after recording 18 goals and 18 assists in three college seasons.

Picking second, fellow expansion side Atlanta United selected Syracuse center back Miles Robinson — the 2016 ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

New York City FC traded up to claim the No. 3 pick, sending $250,000 of general allocation money to the Chicago Fire before selecting Akron forward Jonathan Lewis.

And there was another deal at No. 4, with the Portland Timbers choosing Duke forward Jeremy Ebobisse after sending $100,000 of general allocation money, an international roster slot and the 10th overall pick to the Houston Dynamo.

The Columbus Crew then picked Dayton defender Lalas Abubakar with the No. 5 selection before the San Jose Earthquakes took UCLA midfielder Jackson Yueill sixth overall and the Vancouver Whitecaps chose Connecticut right back Jakob Nerwinski at No. 7.

Atlanta and Columbus then used their second picks of the first round, as United took Providence midfielder Julian Gressel with the eighth selection before the Crew grabbed New Mexico forward Nico Hansen at the No. 9 slot.

Houston rounded out the top 10 by selecting Hofstra midfielder Joseph Holland with the pick it acquired in the earlier deal with Portland.

Here is our run-down of the first-round picks, along with all of the draft day deals:

1. Minnesota United — F Abu Danladi (UCLA)
2. Atlanta United D Miles Robinson (Syracuse)
3. New York City FC (acquired from Chicago) — F Jonathan Lewis (Akron)
4. Portland Timbers (acquired from Houston) — F Jeremy Ebobisse (Duke)
5. Columbus Crew — D Lalas Abubakar (Dayton)
6. San Jose Earthquakes — M Jackson Yueill (UCLA)
7. Vancouver Whitecaps — D Jakob Nerwinski (Connecticut)
8. Atlanta United — M Julian Gressel (Providence)
9. Columbus Crew — F Nico Hansen (New Mexico)
10. Houston Dynamo (acquired from Portland) — M Joseph Holland (Hofstra)
11. Chicago Fire M Daniel Johnson (Louisville)
12. D.C. UnitedD Chris Odoi-Atsem (Maryland)
13. Real Salt LakeD Reagan Dunk (Denver)
14. Sporting Kansas City — D Colton Storm (North Carolina)
15. Colorado Rapids — M Sam Hamilton (Denver)
16. New York City FC (acquired from Seattle) —  D Kwame Awuah (Connecticut)
17. New York Red Bulls — M Zeiko Lewis (Boston College)
18. FC Dallas — M Jacori Hayes (Wake Forest)
19. Montreal Impact — F Nick Depuy (UCSB)
20. New England Revolution — F Brian Wright (Vermont)
21. Toronto FC — D Brandon Aubrey (Notre Dame)
22. Seattle Sounders — D Brian Nana-Sinkam