Nigeria's Gernot Rohr nominated for CAF Coach of the Year award

Following his outstanding feat with the Nigeria national team, Gernot Rohr has been nominated for 2017 CAF Coach of the Year award.

In August 2016, the 64-year-old was appointed to lead the Super Eagles’ 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign and did so remarkably, beating off competitions from Algeria, Cameroon and Zambia in a tough African qualifying Group B. And he avoided defeat in the six encounters to lead the country to the quadrennial showpiece.

Rohr alongside Egypt handler Hector Cuper, Hugo Broos who led Cameroon to a fifth African Nations Cup triumph, Caf Champions League and Caf Confederation Cup winning coaches L'Hussein Amoutta [Wydad Athletic Club] and Mihayo Kazembe [TP Mazembe] respectively will slug it out for the tacticians’ top honours.

Also, the Super Eagles have been nominated in the best team category after a laudable 2017 as they secured a sixth appearance at next year’s World Cup in Russia. The U20 women's national side are in the running in the Women's category.

Super Falcons forward Asisat Oshoala is also on the verge of defending her title as the Women’s Player of the Year after her heroics with Chinese top-flight side Dalian Quanjian earned a place.

The winners will be decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants.


Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala [Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian]
Chrestina Kgatlana [South Africa & UWC Ladies]
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene [Cameroon & CSKA Moscow]
Rutendo Makore [Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos]
Tabitha Chawinga [Malawi & Kvarnsvedens]

Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20
Nigeria U-20
South Africa

Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr [Nigeria]
Hector Cuper [Egypt]
Hugo Broos [Cameroon]
L'Hussein Amoutta [Wydad Athletic Club]
Mihayo Kazembe [TP Mazembe]

National Team of the Year

Mali U-17
Zambia U-20

Club of the Year

Article continues below

Al Ahly
Mbabane Swallows
SuperSport United
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year

Eric Ayiah [Ghana & Charity Stars]
Krepin Diatta [Senegal & Sarpsborg]
Luther Singh [South Africa & Braga]
Patson Daka [Zambia & Liefering]
Salam Giddou [Mali & Guidars]

Referee of the Year

Bamlak Tessema [Ethiopia]
Ghead Grisha [Egypt]
Janny Sikazwe [Zambia]
Malang Diedhiou [Senegal]
Mehdi Abid Charef [Algeria]
Papa Bakary Gassama [Gambia]