Enugu Rangers eager to reclaim lost glory with Federation Cup win, says Kelvin Itoya

Enugu Rangers coach Ogunbote
Rangers media
The Flying Antelopes striker has stated the driving force behind their determination to win the 2018 Federation Cup competition

Enugu Rangers’ Kelvin Itoya has expressed that he expects the Flying Antelopes to advance to the Federation Cup final ahead of Nasarawa United because of their determination to reclaim their lost glory in the competition.

The Flying Antelopes are third in the all-time winners of the oldest club competition in Nigeria with five titles behind Shooting Stars (eight titles) and defunct Lagos Railways who won the competition seven times before they were distressed but the Enugu side last triumph came 35 years ago in 1983.

Itoya disclosed that Enugu Rangers players have been having series of informal discussions pointing out the fact that they must end their barren run of over three decades in the Federation Cup and qualifying for the final of the competition at the expense of Nasarawa United whom they face on Wednesday in Kano.

The former Warri Wolves striker hinted that the results they have posted in the competition have confirmed their readiness to win the Federation Cup for their sports-loving Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi.

Goal 50 Revealed: The best 50 players in the world

“We have read about Rangers rich history and the titles they have won but we are yet to add ours to them,” Itoya told Goal.

Article continues below

“Rangers are a formidable side and some of the things that attracted someone like me were their history and amount of titles they have won. But most of these titles have been won even before we were born and we feel it was proper for us to come and add ours.

“Nasarawa United are the club standing in our way. They are a good side but the way we have approached our games this year has shown all that we are ready for serious business and won’t afford to fail our management, the fans and our Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi.”

Rangers won the Federation Cup five times in 1974, 1975, 1976, 1981 and 1983 while they are up against Nasarawa United that are seeking their first triumph after their narrow loss to FC Ifeanyi Ubah in 2016 final played in Lagos.