Enock Agwanda's inspired Sony Sugar hands Sofapaka a shock defeat

Goal Kenya.
The victory by Sony, will ensure that K’Ogalo maintain their nine-point lead at the summit with four games at hand

Sony Sugar for the fourth time in a row grabbed maximum points from Sofapaka in a Kenyan Premier League match.

Sofapaka were hoping to break the duck against a stubborn Sony in Awendo, but the visitors got a rude shock from the host.

Enock Agwanda and Kevin Wesonga second-half goals denied John Baraza-led Sofapaka a chance to cut Gor Mahia’s lead at the top of the table following a 2-0 defeat.

The victory by Sonywill ensure that K’Ogalo maintains their nine-point lead at the summit with four games at hand.

The sugar millers have been have always been a hard nut to crack for Sofapaka, enjoying a better head to head record in their last three meetings.

Sony needed a victory to revive their struggle for relegation and it came through the hard work of former Bandari.

The three points took their total tally of the season to 21, though the millers did not move a place up from 16 in the 18 team table.

Sofapaka are still second on the log with 40 points, nine behind leaders Gor Mahia.

K’Ogalo have not been active in the domestic front for the last two weeks, but still maintains the top spot.

Meanwhile Ulinzi Stars picked three points against Vihiga United away in Mumias.

Oliver Ruto celebrated his 29th birthday with a goal with a well bent free kick to give the visitors the lead in the 50th minute.

Ruto stepped forward after Churchill Muloma was brought down just outside the 25-meter yards to bend the ball past Barnabas Tiema!

Article continues below

Oscar Wamalwa rose the highest to head home Harun Mwale’s header back in from Ruto’s corner, a goal that gifted the Soldiers their second victory in the last four games.

Sony Sugar starting XI: Kevin Omondi, Abdalla Chamberi, Martin Werunga, Robert Mundenyu, David Mwangi, Michael Apudo, Tobias Omondi, Maxwell Onyango, Kelvin Wesonga, Collins Netto, Enock Agwanda.

Sofapaka starting XI: Wycliffe Kasaya, Dennis Odhiambo,, George Maelo, Yusuf Juma, Ellie Asieche, Timothy Luda, Stephen Waruru, Pistone Mutamba, Kepha Aswani, Teddy Osok.