Rivers Angels are Nigeria women league champions

Edwin Okon's ladies have emerged winners of the Nigeria women topflight following their away win against Edo Queens
Rivers Angels clinched the Nigeria Women Premier League after defeating Edo Queens 3-1 in Benin on Wednesday.

A brace from Asisat Oshoala and Ngozi Ebere secured Rivers Angels the league title with Ifeoma Amos getting the consolation goal at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium.

Edwin Okon's ladies overcame fatigue following their Federation Cup win to silence their hosts in the four-goal thriller.

Oshoala bagged her double in the first half before Amos pulled one back for the hosts.

In the second half, Ebere's strike for Rivers Angels put the game out of reach for Edo Queens as they laboured to contain the attacking forays of the visitors.

The league trophy is Rivers Angels’ first in four years and third since inception of the competition  in 1990 with runners up Pelican Stars the most winners on seven occasions, followed by Delta Queens who won five times.

Sunshine Queens and Osun Babes finished third and fourth with 33 and 32 points respectively, while Confluence Queens and Nasarawa Amazons came fifth and sixth with 31 and 30 points apiece.

In seventh and eighth spots were Ibom Angels and Taraba Queens with 27 and 24 points respectively, while Delta Queens and Bayelsa finished ninth and tenth with 21 and 20 points each.

Meanwhile, FC Robo, COD Queens, State House of Abuja and Martin White Dove have gained promotion to the elite division.