Iheanacho, Success make Flying Eagles provisional World Cup squad

The African champions have announced a team of 35 players for the Fifa World Youth Championship in New Zealand with Kelechi Iheanacho and Isaac Success making the cut

Nigeria U20 coach Manu Garba has invited 35 players in his provisional squad for the 2015 Fifa U20 World Cup that starts on May 30.

The reigning African champions will be hoping to win their first world title having come close twice in Saudi Arabia (1989) and Netherlands (2005).

Usual suspects Taiwo Awoniyi, Dele Alampasu, Prince Omego and Abdullahi Mustapaha are called, as well as dark horses Wasiu Jimoh, Zaharaddeen Bello and Usman Sani Sale while Kelechi Iheanacho, Isaac Success and Musa Yahaya return after missing out of the African Youth Championship in Senegal.

Top scorer of the 20th Africa U20 Championship, Musa Muhammed also made the cut.

There are four goalkeepers, ten defenders, ten midfielders and eleven strikers.

Nigeria will face five-time champions Brazil , Hungary and Korea DPR in Group E of the preliminary round of the 2015 Fifa World Youth Championship in New Zealand.



Goalkeepers: Adamu Abubakar (Flash FC); Dele Alampasu (Football College Academy); Joshua Enaholo (MFM FC); Olorunleke Ojo (Giwa FC)

Defenders: Musa Muhammed (FC Heart Academy); Saheed Abdul-Ganiyu (Ace Academy); Adebayo Ademilua (Nath Boys); Monsuru Bashiru (MFM FC); Zaharaddeen Bello (Dabo Babes Academy); Abdullahi Mustapaha (Spotlight FC); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium);Samuel Okon (Greater Tomorrow Academy); Prince Omego (Apapa Golden Stars); Rowland Silas (Airforce FC)

Midfielders: Abdullahi Alfa (Football College Academy); Bernard Bulbwa (Esperance FC, Tunisia); Akinjide Idowu (Nigeria Young Academy); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Water FC); Wasiu Jimoh (Kwara Academy); Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Chidebere Nwakali (Manchester City, England); Obinna Nwobodo (Enugu Rangers); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC); Musa Yahaya (Tottenham Hotspurs, England)

Forwards: Alhassan Abdullahi (FC Heart); Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy); Chidera Ezeh (FC Porto, Portugal); Okechukwu Gabriel (Water FC);Saviour Godwin (FC Sports); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Success Isaac (Granada FC, Spain); Billy Michael (El-Cruzeiro FC), Christian Pyagbara (Dolphins FC); Usman Sani Sale (Wikki Tourists); Moses Simon (Kaa Gent, Belgium)