Ihezuo, Yakubu make U20 Women's World Cup squad

The Falconets boast of a solid team to the biennial international women's youth football championship which kicks off on November 13 in Papua New Guinea

Nigeria U20 women coach Peter Dedevbo has announced his squad to represent the country at the eighth Fifa U20 Women’s World Cup in Papua New Guinea.

The team is made up of three goalkeepers, seven defenders, five midfielders and six strikers. The country's delegation of 21 players and officials led by head coach will fly out of the country on Sunday evening. 

Nigeria who finished as runners-up at the 2014 edition in Canada will play Japan on November 13 before matches against Canada and Spain respectively in the group phase.


Goalkeepers: Sandra Chichi (Sunshine Queens); Christy Ohiaeriaku (IFKO Stersund, Sweden); Onyinye Okeke (Edo Queens); 

Defenders: Kemi Famuditi (Confluence Queens); Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons); Esther Elijah (Osun Queens); Mary Ologbosere (Ibom Queens); Lilian Atule (Bayelsa Queens); Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Queens); Patience Kalu (Bayelsa Queens)

Midfielders: Tessy Biahwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ihuoma Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens); Adebisi Hameevah (FC Robo); Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo); Ogechi Ukwuoma (Delta Queens); Patience Kalu (Bayelsa Queens)

Strikers: Chinwendu Ihezuo (BIIK Kazygurt, Kazakhstan); Yetunde Adeboyejo (Bayelsa Queens); Chinaza Uchendu (Nasarawa Amazons); Charity Reuben (Ibom Queens); Aminat Yakubu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Joy Bokiri (Bayelsa Queens);