Abia hosts 2015 Nigeria Women Premier League Super Six

The Abia State capital will play host to the women elite division winner deciding tournament, which begins on October 30 in Umuahia, an official has told Goal

The 2015 Nigeria Women Premier League Super Six football tournament will be hosted by Abia State from October 30 to November 5, an official has told Goal.

The competition will feature six clubsides in the Nigeria women's elite division and would decide the winner of the Nigeria Women Premier League for the 2014/15 season.

The six participating teams are reigning champions Rivers Angels, Delta Queens, Nasarawa Amazons, Confluence Queens, Bayelsa Queens and Sunshine Queens.

The six teams finished in the top three places of the recently concluded abridged league competition, which had eight teams each in two divisions.

Secretary of the NWPL board, Emmanuel Adesanya, told Goal that everything is set for the one week women football league championship.

"We (NWPL) are in partnership with the Abia State government, Ministry of Sports and Sports Council to ensure a successful competition," Adesanya told Goal.

"We want to use this platform to rebrand the women league and with the support of all stakeholders of women football in the country, impossible is nothing," the Women League scribe said.

"In company of the chairperson, Mrs Dilichukwu Onyedinma, media coordinator Patrick Ngwaogu and I had visited the State Governor Okezie Ikpeazu and he gave us his words.

"The Abia State government have assured us that they are set and on our own set we have finalized our preparations and looking forward to start of the football event," he concluded.

The competition will be staged at the Umuahia Township Stadium, home of the newly promoted Abia Angels and Abia Warriors.