Mathare United 2-0 Zoo FC: Slum Boys off the mark at Kasarani
Mathare United vs Zoo FC.
Mathare United.
The former champions scored twice in the first half to claim their first points of the new league campaign

The 2008 FKF-Premier League champions Mathare United have recorded their first win this season after defeating their hosts Zoo FC 2-0 at Kasarani Stadium on Monday.

Daniel Otieno and John Mwangi scored the goals that handed the Slum Boys maximum points.

After back-to-back defeats against Sofapaka and Gor Mahia, the Slum Boys hosted the Kericho-based team hoping to collect their first win this season.

They were not going to get it easy against their visitors who had registered two 1-1 draws against Bandari and Posta Rangers in their last matches.

The Salim Ali-led team needed seven minutes to open the scoring when Mwangi managed to pick out Otieno in a good area and the latter took a low shot that Vincent Misikhu failed to keep out.

Five minutes later, the hosts doubled their advantage. Mwangi, who assisted the first goal, was let into the danger zone.

He unleashed a fierce shot which the goalkeeper parried straight to him, and the winger made no mistake with the second attempt from close range.

In the 20th minute, the Herman Iswekha-led team created a good opportunity: Kepha Ondati created space and had a good hit ball from about 30 yards, but Job Ochieng did a good job to stop it from finding the back of the net.

In the 33rd minute, Zoo custodian Misikhu had to be alert in goal to stop Dani Lual from scoring the Slum Boys' third goal from close range.

Moments later, it was the turn of Mwangi to get his brace, but with the goalkeeper to beat, he shot narrowly wide.

Mathare resorted to cautious play after the break, ensuring Zoo do not get much of the ball.

Despite changes by either side, nothing changed on the scoreboard as the Nairobi-based team held on to record their first win of the season.

Zoo FC XI: Vincent Misikhu, Brian Kiplang'at, Pascal Ogweno, Matini Murabwa, Stanslaus Akiya, Geoffrey Gichana, Ongeri Dennis, Summy Ggolola, Kepha Ondati, Odongo Mathew, Collins Neto

Article continues below

Subs: Maxwell Mulili, Alex Onchwari, George Otieno, Edwin Namasaka, Newton Ondari, Ernest Kipkoech, Danson Kiprono, Dominic Kiprono

Mathare starting XI: Job Ochieng (GK), Martin Ongori, David Ochieng, Austin Ochieng, Norman Ogolla, Lennox Ogutu, Chris Oduor (C), Daniel Otieno, Danson Kago, John Mwangi, Dani Lual

Subs: David Okello (GK), Alphonse Ndonye, Kennedy Ochieng, Martin Werunga, Khalid Jumaan, Boniface Akenga, Cersidy Okeyo, Eugene Wethuli, Klinsman Omulanga