News Live Scores
Africa Cup of Nations Qualification

Reports: AFC Leopards sends home entire technical bench after poor show in 2018

4:35 PM MYT 10/10/2018
AFC Leopards fan
A top Ingwe official reveals to Goal that they have reached an agreement to fire the technical bench after a disastrous outing

AFC Leopards have decided to sack the entire technical bench just days after the team finished the 2018 season without winning a trophy.

A top official at the club has exclusively revealed to Goal that a meeting of top officials held on Friday decided to fire all the members of the technical bench ahead of the new season.

The new development means that interim coach Tom Juma and Team Manager Gilbert Selebwa have been shown the exit door alongside goalkeeper trainer Mathews Ottamax.

Juma was elavated to the acting role, just days after the club parted ways with Argentine coach Rodolfo Zapata on mutual concent. The Argentine was the third coach to leave The Den in the 2018 season.

“We have fired the entire technical bench. We want to start afresh and maybe this could help yield good results next season,” a top official, who attended the meeting, told Goal on Wednesday.

The source added, “We will hold a press conference on Friday to announce the changes.”

A number of top coaches have already been shorlisted to take over the hot seat with Frank Nuttall, formely of Gor Mahia also joining the fray. Apart from Nutall, AFC Leopards have also been linked with a move for Mathare United coach Francis Kimanzi and Melis Medo of Nakumatt.

AFC Leopards have already set a record of hiring and firing coaches in Kenyan history. Prior to elevating Dennis Kitambi to the acting role, the team was under Briton Stewart Hall. Ingwe had also hired Dutchman Pieter De Jongh in June 2014 but dismissed him after six months with Juma Abdallah taking over.

Croatian Zdravko Logarusic replaced Abdallah in February until October 2015 when Jan Koops temporarily served before Belgian Ivan Minnaert arrived in February 2016. Ezekiel Akwana, Dorian Marin, Tom Juma and Robert Matano followed suit but as usual, none lasted a full season.