PSV punish nine-man Ajax to reclaim Eredivisie title

Last updated
The Eindhoven side strolled to victory over their closest rivals to displace Feyenoord as the league champions

PSV captured their third Eredivisie title in four seasons as a 3-0 win over close rivals Ajax secured an unassailable 10-point lead with three games remaining.

Gaston Pereiro, Luuk De Jong and Steven Bergwijn scored to seal the silverware in fine style as they emphatically ended Feyenoord's stint as champions.

Second-placed Ajax entered Sunday's encounter as the only club capable of catching the leaders, but their hopes of reducing the gap back to four points faded in the space of 15 first-half minutes.

Pereiro bundled in the opener midway through the half before Luuk De Jong headed in Joshua Brenet's cross to kick-start the celebrations at Philips Stadion.

Article continues below

Bergwijn added polish to the scoreline by poking in a third nine minutes after the interval and Ajax's bid to prolong the hosts' wait only unravelled further in the final 10 minutes.

Nicolas Tagliafico earned a second yellow and Siem de Jong received a straight red for a crude studs-up challenge, meaning the Amsterdam outfit had two players dismissed in a single Eredivisie match for the first time in their history.

The incidents failed to overshadow PSV's success, though, with Phillip Cocu claiming a third domestic triumph as head coach to go with the three he won at the club as a player, bringing PSV to within nine titles of Ajax's record of 33.

Next article:
'No struggle' between France stars Mbappe and Griezmann – Deschamps
Next article:
Preview: Famous Vietnam take on opaque Malaysia in anticipated group encounter
Next article:
Australia vs Korea Republic: TV channel, live stream, squad, Socceroos news & preview
Next article:
Neymar: Emery will bring 'good things' for Arsenal
Next article:
Rooney: Kane will beat my England scoring record