News Live Scores
FELDA United

Felda United capture 2018 Premier League title

2:58 PM MYT 18/07/2018
Gilberto Fortunato, Felda United, Malaysia Premier League, 17072018
Felda United have been crowned the 2018 Malaysia Premier League champions, following their 3-1 win over Sarawak.

BY        ZULHILMI ZAINAL       Follow on Twitter

Felda United have been crowned the 2018 Malaysia Premier League champions, following their 3-1 win over Sarawak in their round 18 match on Wednesday.

In the match that was held at the Sarawak State Stadium, they opened the scoring as early as the sixth minute through Gilberto Fortunato's goal, before Thiago Fernandes doubled their lead five minutes from halftime. Mateo Roskam pulled one back for the hosts in the 45th minute, but Gilberto sealed the win from the spot in the 67th minute.

The win has taken the Fighters 10 points in front of second-placed Felcra FC, with Felcra now unable to overtake Felda, as Felcra have only three remaining league matches to play.

En route to capturing their second Premier League title, Felda recorded 12 wins, five draws and one defeat.

Sathianathan Bhaskaran's men now are also set for a return to the Super League, from which they were relegated at the end of the 2017 season, due to club licencing issues.

The other promotional spot in Malaysia's second tier will now be contested between four clubs; Felcra (31 points), MISC-MIFA (26), PDRM FA (25) and Sabah (24).

Felda players and coaching staff celebrate their title win with a cheeky, if slightly outdated, routine