News Live Scores
Calcutta Premier Division A

CFL 2018: Confident East Bengal eye fourth consecutive win

8:00 PM MYT 25/08/2018
East Bengal CFL 2018
In-form East Bengal will be raring to go against NBP Rainbow AC in their sixth match of the Calcutta Football League 2018…

East Bengal take on NBP Rainbow AC in their sixth match of the 2018 Calcutta Football League (CFL) Premier Division ‘A’ on Sunday at the East Bengal ground.

The Red and Golds recorded a hat-trick of wins on Thursday as they thrashed Tollygunge Agragami 3-0. It was also their third consecutive three-goal victory of the competition. They are also the only team in the league to not concede a single goal after five rounds.

Even though Subhash Bhowmick’s men are in perfect sync at the moment and are playing attractive and attacking football, they cannot afford to take their opponents lightly.

Rainbow have quality foreigners like Eric Dano, Penn Orji and Joel Sunday who can punish the giants if they become complacent. On the opposition they're about to face, technical director Subhash Bhowmick said, “Rainbow AC are a very good side. They have quality players and they play quite well. We cannot take them lightly.”

On Penn Orji’s presence in the opponent’s midfield, Bhowmick said, “I am not thinking about Penn (Orji) separately. We will play our natural game.”

Bhowmick rued that he has to continue to field Mahmoud Al Amna in the starting lineup. Before the season started, the veteran tactician had suggested that he wants to preserve Amna for a bigger stage like I-League.

On playing Amna, Bhowmick said, “I wanted to preserve Amna for I-League. But the situation demanded Amna’s presence in the starting lineup.”

He wanted his players to bring out the killer instinct in their game. “I am still not satisfied with my team’s performance. I want a killer instinct in all the players.”

Lalrindika Ralte who came on as a substitute in the previous match will continue to remain on the bench as he is yet to attain full match fitness.

East Bengal predicted XI: Rakshit Dagar; Samad Ali Mallick, Mehtab Singh, Kinshuk Debnath, Lalram Chullova; Kamalpreet Singh, Kassim Aidara, Mahmoud Al Amna, Laldanmawia Ralte, Brandon Vanlalremdika; Joby Justin.