Ballon d'Or 2021: What are the two new awards & who won them?

Robert Lewandowski, Ballon d'Or awards 2021Getty

The winners of the 2021 Ballon d'Or awards were announced on Monday.

The best players in each of the men's and women's games were handed their trophies at the ceremony in Paris, while the Kopa Trophy went to the best player under the age of 21 and the best goalkeeper was handed the Yashin Trophy.

But it was announced on Monday that two additional accolades would go out this year for the first time.

What are the new trophy categories?

One of the new trophies that wemt out is the Best Goalscorer of the Year, which was given to the most prolific player over the calenader year.

The other was not handed out to an individual player, but instead awarded to the best club of the year.

Who won the awards?

The inaugural winner of the of the Best Goalscorer of the Year award was Robert Lewandowski, following his stunning season for Bayern Munich.

The Poland international has scored 51 goals in 40 appearances across all competitions for the Bundesliga champions across the calendar year.

Best Club of the Year award has been given to Chelsea, following their success in the Champions League last season.

Article continues below

The Blues are off to a solid start this term, too, as they sit top of the Premier League with 30 points from 13 matches.

Further reading