Al Nassr relying on the fantastic 8 to keep them in contention

Club officials most likely to stick with all foreigners throughout the season.

As the first phase of the Mohammed Bin Salman league comes to a close, it’s crucial time for certain clubs to revisit their investments within the squad and evaluate performances.

While majority of the clubs are going to look for reinforcements due to injuries suffered by foreign players or lack of desired performance by others, on paper, one club seems to be content with how they are set up.

One of the big four – Al Nassr, let by Saud Al-Sweilem, who recently suffered an unfortunate cruciate ligament injury, will be happy with how the eight foreigners have shaped up so far.

Al Nassr currently sit behind league leaders Al Hilal with a 5-point difference between the two. Management and fans alike have highly praised the contributions from their foreign players and vice-versa, with fans iterating a strong desire to continue with this line-up until the end of the season. 

The 8 foreign players of quality caliber include Australian goalkeeper Brad Jones, Brazilian defender Bruno Uvini and Peruvian defender Cristian Ramos, Brazilians midfield duos of Petros and Giuliano, Moroccan midfielder Nordin Amrabat, Nigerian winger Ahmed Musa and Moroccan striker Abderrazzaq Hamdallah.

Ahmed Musa

Article continues below

One of the few teams to restructure their squad across all lines with quality signings, Al Nassr managed to score 18 with 12 coming from the midfield trio of Musa, Giuliano and Amrabat.

The local Saudi talent has benefited from their presence as well. Yahya Al-Shehri is slowly gaining momentum to his previous best and the introduction of the young striker, who recently gained fame as an Under-19 Asian Champion – Firas Al-Birakan is a breadth of fresh air.

For now officials are focusing on bringing in a reliable conductor who could steer the team towards the title, given the dismissal of Uruguayan manager José Daniel Carreño after the disappointing loss against MC Alger in the Zayed Cup.