AFC Leopards edge out Muhoroni Youth in Mombasa

AFC Leopards striker Allan Kateregga.
Goal Kenya.
Ingwe overcame Muhoroni Youth to move joint second on the Kenyan Premier League table

AFC Leopards beat Muhoroni Youth 1-0 in a Kenyan Premier League match played on Sunday at Mbaraki Sports club.

Midfielder Allan Kateregga scored in the 35th minute to hand Ingwe the slim victory as the rest of the match bore no fruit for either side.

This is a match AFC Leopards had to win going by the nature of league standings and head coach Stewart Hall had named a formidable squad for the duty.

They knew their arch-rivals Gor Mahia were already at the top of the table and so they could not afford to drop any further points if they are to challenge for the league leadership. A 2-0 defeat at the hands of Chemelil Sugar last week was a real heartbreak for the Big Cats and it was clear that everyone in the camp was out for victory.

Muhoroni Youth, on the other hand, is a team which is trying to find foot with new players following the exit of their experienced players in January. Head coach James ‘Odijo’ Omondi need to win a number of matches in a bid to achieve their dream and as was witnessed in the match against AFC Leopards, the players gave their best.

The Kateregga goal found them off-guard but their efforts to look for an equalizer only saw them protect their keeper from conceding another goal in the match.

Attempts by the likes of Kennedy Rono were thwarted by a strong AFC Leopards defense which comprised of Salim Abdalla, Robinson Kamura, Marcus Abwao and Joshua Mawira.

Gilbert Fiamenyo, Whyvonne Isuza and Robinson Kamura were also instrumental for Ingwe. Before picking an injury which saw Haron Nyakha being introduced in the 85th minute, Andrew Tololwa had also partnered well with Fiamenyo and his substitute Marcellus Ingotsi upfront.

The win now takes AFC Leopards to a joint second position with 10 points same as those of Bandari and Sofapaka.

AFC Leopards: Ian Otieno, Salim Abdalla, Robinson Kamura, Marcus Abwao, Joshua Mawira, Bernard Mang'oli, Whyvonne Isuzza, Allan Katerrega, Duncan Otieno, Andrew Tololwa,Gilbert Fiamenyo.

Article continues below

Subs: Gabriel Andika, Yakubu Ramadhan, Mike Kibwage, Haron Nyakha, Marcellus Ingotsi, Ibrahim Mao, Jackson Juma.

Muhoroni Youth: Salim Sowedi, Paul Muchika, Yusuf Mohammed, Robert Ouma, Faina Jacobs, Collins Agade, Kennedy Rono, Maxwell Onyango, Ally Ahmed, Calvince Omanga,Daniel Otieno.

Subs: Gradus Ochieng’, Kityo Bliss, James Ogada, Eric Baki, Tom Adwar, Venval Thomas, Mohammed Mwachiponi.