Sudarsono declines presidential seat, FAS yet to elect new president

Sarawak FA is currently without any president after Datu Sudarsono has declined the position.

 BY    NIK AFIQ     Follow on Twitter

Football Association of Sarawak (FAS) is currently without a new president after Datu Sudarsono Osman declined to be re-elected as the president of the association.

After their Annual General Meeting (AGM) on September 17th, the committee members were left without president when Datu Sudarsono declined the nomination for the presidential seat.

The new committee will sit for Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) within seven days after the AGM to decide who will be the next president of FAS.

The other positions were elected and the new vice president, Abdul Wahab Rahim will be the acting president before they elect the new leader for the association.

According to Utusan Malaysia, Wahab stated that they have nominated two names for the post during the meeting, but with Sudarsono declining the position, and the other name, Tan Sri Adenan Satem is yet to confirm his status, they still cannot name a new president.

Speaking after the AGM, Wahab said: “According to the FAS constitution, we will do the EGM within the seven days after the AGM.”

“We really need a new president as quickly as possible to lead the FAS so that we can progress and carry on with the season as usual.”

Other than Abdul Wahab, they have also elected five deputy presidents, with three new members and two old faces.

Razali Dolhan dan Duke Janteng are still the exco members for the FAS, while the three new faces are Datuk Posa Majais, Abang Suhardie Abang Zaini and Cassidy Marris.

The new committee members of Sarawak FA will lead the organization for the next two years, until 2018.

For the record, Datu Sudarsono Osman has been the president of FAS for the last three sessions, from 2010 until 2016.


Sarawak defender handed a six-month ban for violent conduct

JDT stretch lead at the top, Pahang and Terengganu share points at the bottom

GALLERY: JDT lift third consecutive MSL title, Pahang gain lifeline in round 20