What is the Premier League's longest unbeaten record?

Comments (0)
Arsenal Invincibles
Getty Images
Arsenal are the only side to have won the Premier League title without defeat all season, but other teams have come close

When you think of "unbeaten" and "Premier League", your thoughts might immediately be drawn to Arsenal's incredible title-winning campaign in 2003-04.

The Gunners went an amazing 49 games without falling to defeat that season, leading them to clinch the Premier League title.

They are the only side to have ever won the Premier League without falling to defeat once – hence the "Invincibles" title – and though their streak remains the longest in the top-flight, other records have come close. 

What is the longest unbeaten run in the Premier League?

Under Arsene Wenger, Arsenal currently hold the record for the longest unbeaten Premier League run with 49 games in 2003-04.

Other managers have tried to have an Invincibles season of their own, but ultimately failed.

Expectations were high for Pep Guardiola's 2017-18 Manchester City side, who seemed to steamroll over just about everyone – until they paid a visit to Liverpool in January and shockingly lost 4-3, ending their dreams of an unbeaten run (they had a streak of 30 games). City ended up winning the league that season with 100 points, but not without two defeats (to Liverpool and Man Utd).

Chelsea, under Jose Mourinho, managed a 40-game unbeaten run through October 2005, followed by Arsenal's 30 matches through October 2002.

Article continues below

Liverpool became just the fourth team to record 30 straight unbeaten games in the Premier League following their victory over Crystal Palace in November 2019, in a run that started after their loss against Manchester City in January 2019.

But Jurgen Klopp's current streak ended on February 29, 2020 after a shock 3-0 loss by relegation battlers Watford.

Premier League longest unbeaten streaks

Date of last game in run Team Matches Unbeaten
October 16, 2004 Arsenal 49
February 29, 2020 Liverpool 44
October 29, 2005 Chelsea 40
October 6, 2002 Arsenal 30
January 2, 2018 Manchester City 30
October 18, 2008 Chelsea 29
September 25, 1999 Manchester United 29
February 1, 2011 Manchester United 29
April 30, 2017 Manchester United 25
November 6, 1995 Nottingham Forest 25