News Live Scores
African All Stars

Tabitha Chawinga and Asisat Oshoala make Caf African Women's Player of the Year list

11:42 GMT+3 28/11/2017
Tabitha Chawinga
Following her remarkable season for Kvarnsveden, the Malawian has been nominated for the continent's individual accolade alongside the Nigerian

Malawi's Tabitha Chawinga and Nigeria's Asisat Oshoala and South Africa's Chrestina Kgatlana made the five-woman shortlist for the Caf Women's Player of the Year 2017.

Oshoala clinched the award in 2016, and also got nominated for the third time after she inspired her Chinese side Dalian Quanjian to a double with netting 19 goals.

Chawinga emerged the Swedish Women Premier League topscorer scoring 25 goals.

Other nominees are Zimbabwe's Rutendo Makore, who emerged at topscorer with 10 goals at the COSAFA event and Cameroon's Gabrielle Onguene, who won the Russian Women's Cup with CSKA Moscow.

In the team's category, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Ghana U20, and Nigeria U20 were nominated for the Women’s National Team of the Year 2017.

The winners will be decided by votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF, members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee and a panel of Media Experts.

The Awards Gala will be held on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.



African Women's Player of the Year

1. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsveden)

2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

3. Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

4. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

5. Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)

Women’s National Team of the Year

South Africa



Ghana U-20

Nigeria U-20