Nike Premier Cup 2018: Minerva Punjab beat DSK Shivajians in final to clinch third consecutive title

Nike Premier Cup; Minerva Punjab v Aizawl FC
The defending champions beat DSK Shivajians 4-0 in the final to secure ultimate glory...

Minerva Punjab beat DSK Shivajians 4-0 in the final of the Nike Premier Cup 2018 held at the Bambolim Athletic Stadium in Goa on Thursday. A second-half brace from Thoiba Singh sandwiched between goals from Lalchhanhima Sailo and Hemam Bijio sealed the win for the young Warriors who clinched their third consecutive U-15 league title.

The Punjab-based side secured maximum points from their three group games involving Churchill Brothers, FC Mumbaikaars and Chennaiyin FC. They netted 14 goals and conceded none in their group fixtures to secure a semi-final berth against Aizawl FC. A 4-2 penalty shoot-out win in the semi-final had ensured a third successive final berth for the defending champions. 

Minerva got through to the group stage through zonal and playoff qualification. In total, the winners netted 48 goals from 12 games throughout the U-15 Youth league.