Mathare United produce four players as Francis Kimanzi names Emerging Stars squad

Goal Kenya.
Four foreign-based players are also expected to link up with the team when they hit camp

Mathare United players have dominated Kenya's Emerging Stars 18-man squad set to hit camp next week ahead of the U23 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers against Mauritius.

The team was named after a two-day exercise that was conducted in the presence of the senior national team head coach Sebastien Migne and Francis Kimanzi, who was in full charge on Sunday.

The exercise attracted 57 players but only 18, led by Mathare United quartet Lennox Ogutu, Johnstone, Abdallah Ahmed and David Owino made the cut.

 “It was quite challenging because we had quality players in each and every position, but alongside my Technical Bench as well as the Senior National Team Coach (Sébastien Migné) and his assistant (Nicolas Borriquet-Cor) we have come up with 18 players who will hit camp next week,” Kimanzi said after the selection.

The final squad is set to take part in a two-day open session on Tuesday and Wednesday before hitting residential camp on Friday in Nairobi, ahead of the first leg. Four foreign-based players are also expected to link up with the team when they hit camp.

Kenya will kick off the campaign at home on November 14, 2018, at the MISC Kasarani with the reverse tie coming in just four days later.

The winner of the tie on aggregate will proceed to the second round, with a third round also in line. The final tourney, set to be played in November 2019, in Egypt, will act as a qualifier to the 2020 Olympics.

Article continues below

Final Squad

Goalkeepers: Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks); Defenders: Mike Kibwage (KCB), Lennox Ogutu (Mathare United), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Harun Mwale (Ulinzi Stars), Yussuf Mainge (AFC Leopards); Midfielders: Teddy Osok (Sofapaka), Tobias Otieno (Sony Sugar), Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars), Abdallah Ahmed (Mathare United), Chrispinus Onyango (KCB), James Mazembe (Kariobangi Sharks); Forwards: Boniface Mukhekhe (Nakumatt), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Jaffari Owiti (AFC Leopards)