News Live Scores

GOtv Shield: Tusker, Ulinzi Stars through to next round

17:55 GMT+3 25/06/2017
Paul Odhiambo of Tusker
The brewers started the match on a high note and deserved to eliminate the Coastal-based side

Tusker reached the next round of GOtv Shield after seeing off SS Assad FC 5-0 on Sunday.

The brewers started the match on a high note and deserved to eliminate the Coastal-based side a Mbaraki Stadium. It was some good day in office for new signings when, Paul Odhiambo joined Bernard Mang’oli on the list of scorers on their debut, opening his goal account for the brewers with a brace in Mombasa. 

Tusker’s other scorers were Noah Wafula, Michael Khamati and Clifford Awanga. Nzoia Sugar and Leysa also sailed through. The cane cutters beat Bondo United 2-0 in Kisumu while Leysa flew over Butterfly FC with a slim 2-1 win at Thika Sub County.

The Sugar millers were put ahead by Brain Yakhama, who slotted from the spot  in the 23rd minute before Benjamin Muchuma killed the game with Nzoia’s second in the dying minutes of second hand to book a ticket to the next round. Leysa labored hard after going down in the opening half courtesy of Jeremy Wakhungu only to turn the table when Oscar Kadenge leveled the score just a minute after the break.

Salim Wafula sealed trip to the next round with a winner just three minutes after their opening goal. Elsewhere, Ulinzi Stars needed a goal from Enos Ochieng' to beat Wajiji FC and qualify for the next round. Meanwhile, Mang'oli was on target as Sofapaka hammered Silver Bullets 9-1 in another match.

Batoto ba Mungu were a class above the Division One side with Umar Kasumba grabbing four goals. Hansel Ochieng, Rogers Aloro, Feni Ali, Bernard Mang'oli and Meshack Karani scored the other goals for the winners while Gabriel Wandera pulled a consolation for Bullets.

Sofapaka XI: George Opiyo, Willis Ouma, Wesley Onguso, Humphrey Okoti, Rogers Aloro, Bernard Mang'oli, Ezekiel Okare, Hillary Echesa, Umaru Kasumba, Ali Feni, Timothy Luda.

Subs: Juma Reuben, Kennedy Odour, George Maelo, Maurice Odipo, Hansel Ochieng, Michael Odour, Meshack Karani.