EXTRA TIME: Watch the unusual announcement of Nigeria's squad for Afcon

Getty Images
The NFF revealed the players that will be flying the country’s flag in Egypt later this month with a video that has got fans talking

The Nigeria Football Federation has announced Gernot Rohr's 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon).

Leicester City's Kelechi Iheanacho and Rotherham United's Semi Ajayi were dropped from the team that will travel to Egypt on Sunday, ahead of the Super Eagles' 18th appearance on the continental stage.

Interestingly for the fans, the country's football authority revealed the 23 players with a video that featured Rohr with his introductory message, before the pictures and names were shown in banners spread across the Stephen Keshi Stadium.

As expected, some fans were left intrigued by the concept adopted by the NFF.