News Live Scores

India U-16 hit four goals past Chinese Taipei U-17

15:05 GMT+3 23/03/2018
India U16 starting XI v Chinese Taipei in the Scoreboard at the Jockey Club International Youth Invitational Football Tournament
The Indian youngsters began their Hong Kong sojourn with a convincing win...

The Indian national team's U-16 contingent will be battling it out for the upcoming U-16 AFC (Asian Football Confederation) Championship in Malaysia later this year.

As part of the preparations arranged by the AIFF (All India Football Federation), the team has toured Dubai and Qatar and are currently in Hong Kong from where they will be heading to Spain for another tournament involving the likes of FC Barcelona, Manchester United and UC Sampdoria.

Match No. Date Opponent Score Result
1 22/1/2018 Shabaab Al Ahli 5-0 Won
2 25/1/2018 Al Hamriya Club 10-0 Won
3 28/1/2018 Ajman Club 3-1 Won
Match No. Date Opponent Score Result
1 1/2/2018 Aspire Club U16 2-0 Won
2 5/2/2018 Al Sadd 1-0 Won
3 12/2/2018 Aspire Club U16 1-0 Won

The India U-16 squad, under the leadership of head coach Bibiano Fernandes, is currently competing in the U-17 category of the Jockey Club International Youth Invitational Football Tournament 2018 in Hong Kong.

In the opener of the tournament on Friday, March 23, India defeated Chinese Taipei 4-0 while the hosts got the better of Singapore by a scoreline of 2-0 in matches played at the Po Kong Village Road Park Football Pitch in Hong Kong.

The Indians were offensive from the start as Thoiba's header had to be kept out by the rival goalkeeper inside the opening 15 minutes before Bekey's header missed narrowly.

It was Bekey who broke the deadlock from Sailo's assist in the 33rd minute while Shabas slotted home the rebound from Vikram's saved penalty to give India a 2-0 lead at half-time.

Thoiba converted from a Givson cross to extend the lead in the 69th minute with substitute Rohit Danu completing the tally in the 83rd minute.

India are set to face Singapore and Hong Kong on March 24 and 25 respectively.

India's starting XI: Lalbiakhlua Jongte (GK), Samir Karketta (DF), Gurkirat Singh (DF), Shabas Ahammed (DF), Moirangthem Thoiba Singh (DF), Ricky John Shabong (MF), Lalchhanhima Sailo (MF), Givson Singh Moirangthem (MF), Bekey Oram (MF), Ridge Melvin Demello (MF), Vikram Partap Singh (FW).