Ulinzi Stars 1-0 Wazito FC: Enosh Ochieng' strikes to lift Soldiers in Kericho
Goal Kenya.
The win temporarily moved Ulinzi Stars to fourth on the 18-team log and above Sofapaka even though both teams have 47 points

Ulinzi Stars dented Wazito’s relegation hopes following a 1-0 victory over the league debutantes on Sunday.

The win at the Kericho Green Stadium saw Ulinzi Stars take their record to three wins in three games; to add to victories over Nakumatt and Chemelil Sugar.

Coach Dunstan Nyaudo made a number of changes in the squad that also had debutantes Boniface Andayi but the relatively weak side did the job at the end of the day; albeit with a slim margin.

Timothy Odhiambo also swapped places with skipper James Saruni in goal while Elijah Mwanzia and Cliff Kasuti, as well as Oliver Ruto, were all drafted into the starting eleven after missing the previous match.

Despite the numerous changes, Ulinzi Stars looked solid and it took the Soldiers only four minutes to find the back of the net. Enosh Ochieng gave them the lead in the fourth minute following a sloppy defensive display by the visitors.

Wazito made the first meaningful attack at the half-hour mark, but Anthony Njeru’s center of gravity let him down even after he rounded off Timothy Odhiambo but he went down at a crucial moment when he just needed to slip the ball into an empty net.

Elvis Nandwa went down inside Wazito’s box, but the referee wasn’t interested in his theatrics as both sides took the battle to the dying minutes of the first half. On the other end, Njeru was denied by Odhiambo as Wazito laid a late attack on the Soldiers but the hosts held their ground until the final whistle.

The win temporarily moved Ulinzi Stars to fourth on the log, above Sofapaka even though both teams have 47 points. Wazito, on the other hand, remained second from bottom on 27 points. Wazito will take on Zoo FC in the next game as Ulinzi Stars battle it out with champions Gor Mahia.

Ulinzi Stars XI: Timothy Odhiambo, Oliver Ruto, Boniface Andayi, Hassan 'Rio' Mohammed (C), Hamisi Abdalla, Bernard Ongoma, Daniel Waweru, Ibrahim Shambi, Elvis Nandwa, Elijah Mwanzia and Enosh Ochieng.

Subs: James Saruni (GK), Cylus Shitote, George Omondi, Omar Boraafya, Churchill Muloma, Harun Mwale and Cliff Kasuti.

Wazito FC XI: Martin Musalia (GK), David Oswe, Piscas Muhindo, Anthony Njer, Oliver Kilonzo, Eric Ochieng, Dan Owino, Derrick Onyango, Edwin Lavatsa, Chris Owino and Emmanuel Tienan. 

Subs: Eric Ogwade, Edwin Wanjala, Ferdinand Wanjala, Marvin Onyango, Eric Odhiambo, Zedrick Imbosa and Simon Mburu.

Comments ()