Gor Mahia and top five contenders for KPL title in 2018 season

Gor Mahia players with KPL trophy.
Goal Kenya.
Goal parades the top four teams that could challenge champions K’Ogalo for the league title this season

  1. Gor Mahia
    Goal Tanzania.

    #1 Gor Mahia

    K’Ogalo will be chasing for a record 17th Kenyan Premier League crown in the 2018 season. Gor Mahia won their 16th title with four matches to spare last season after beating Ulinzi Stars at Afraha Stadium in Nakuru. The Kenyan champions are still the team to beat this season. Despite losing Kenneth Muguna and captain Musa Mohammed, the club have signed top quality with Humphrey Mieno and Charles Momanyi filling the void. Coach Dylan Kerr is also pumped up ahead of the season and the team could as well dominate.

  2. Sofapaka
    Goal Kenya.

    #2 Sofapaka

    Batoto ba Mungu finished second behind Gor Mahia last season and have already beefed up their squad with a number of quality signings. Kepha Aswani and Stephen Waruru have joined the side from Nakumatt and Ulinzi Stars respectively. Club President Elly Kalekwa is already talking up the title challenge and is confident that his side will beat Gor Mahia to the title. “If a team finishes second, the only other option you have is to win it (title) the following year. Everyone here wants the title. We have the thirst to win the league this year.”

  3. Tusker

    #3 Tusker

    The brewers relinquished the league title to Gor Mahia after a poor second leg last season. Tusker had launched the 2017 campaign in a dramatic fashion and were destined to defend the title but in the second leg, they posted mixed results that led to the sacking of coach George ‘Best’ Nsimbe. The team never looked dangerous in that period and eventually allowed Gor Mahia to run away with the crown. However, this season, they look set to rival the rest for the title. Despite releasing 14 players, the brewers have beefed up their squad and also appointed Ugandan coach Sam Timbe.

  4. AFC Leopards
    Goal Kenya.

    #4 AFC Leopards

    Ingwe last won the Kenyan Premier League title in 1998 and have always wanted to break the poor run but in vain. Last season, the club was left fighting for relegation after a series of poor results that led to the sacking of three coaches. The arrival of coach Robert Matano helped to steady the sinking ship as they avoided the axe and also clinched GOtv Shield title. This season, they have already sharpened their claws with quality acquisitions and are destined for bigger things. Club chairman Dan Mule is confident that they have assembled the best squad to challenge for trophies in all fronts.

  5. Kakamega Homeboyz

    #5 Kakamega Homeboyz

    Striker Allan Wanga, midfielder James Situma and winger Noah Wafula are among the new faces at Homeboyz. Despite finishing fifth last season, Homeboyz have been the busiest club in this transfer window and are the suprise package to win the league title. Chairman Cleophas Shimanyula has warned title rivals to expect a very different side this season. “We are ready to challenge for the title. This will be our year and the opponents should be warned. We will not be competing but will be fighting to win the title.”