News Live Scores
Africa Cup of Nations

Official: Ghana name squad for Kenya clash in Afcon qualifying

10:50 EAT 22/08/2018
The Black Stars team for the September 8 fixture in Nairobi has been unveiled

Inter Milan midfielder Kwadwo Asamoah and Atletico Madrid ace Thomas Teye Partey headline Ghana's squad for next month's Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Kenya

The duo are the biggest names on coach James Kwesi Appiah's 21-man party for the September 8 clash in Nairobi. 

Asamoah's return is undoubtedly the biggest talking point, a comeback that marks the end of a four-year self-imposed sabbatical. The former Juventus man has not played for the Black Stars since an Afcon qualifier against Uganda in September 2014 due to fitness issues. 

Belgium-based striker William Owusu gets his first call-up after a series of fine performance for Royal Antwerp. 

There are also returns for the likes of Daniel Opare, Harrison Afful, John Boye, Christian Atsu and Abdul Majeed Waris who all missed recent international assignments.  

Captain Asamoah Gyan and deputy skipper Andre Ayew have been ignored once more, alongside the likes of Mubarak Wakaso, Jordan Ayew, Jeffrey Schlupp, Alfred Duncan, Lumor Agbenyenu, Kwasi Okyere Wriedt, Patrick Twumasi and China-based Richmond Boakye-Yiadom.

Schalke 04 left-back Baba Rahman has been excused despite returning from a long-term injury, while Levante striker Emmanuel Boateng has been left out over fitness concerns. 

Ghana currently top Group F after matchday one while Kenya sit third. 

Appiah's latest squad comes two days after he rubbished an earlier fake version circulated by local media. 

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati Zigi (Sochaux, France), Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA) Daniel Opare (Royal Antwerp, Belgium) Kasim Nuhu Adams (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany) John Boye (FC Metz, France), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England), Andy Yiadom (Reading Football Club, England), Nicholas Opoku (Udinese, Italy)

Midfielders: Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Isaac Sackey (Alanyaspor, Turkey), Ebenezer Ofori (New York City FC, USA), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Edwin Gyasi (CSKA Sofia, Bulgaria) Kwadwo Asamoah (Inter Milan, Italy), Frank Acheampong (Tianjin Teda, China), Nana Ampomah (Waasland-Beveren, Belgium)

Forwards: Raphael Dwamena (Levante UD, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Majeed Waris (FC Nantes, France), William Owusu (Royal Antwerp, Belgium)