Nike Premier Cup 2018: Minerva Punjab pip Aizawl FC to enter third straight final

The defending champions overcame the challenge of Aizawl FC in tiebreakers on Tuesday...

Minerva Punjab reached a third straight Nike Premier Cup final after getting the better of Aizawl FC in a penalty shootout after a tightly-fought semifinal. 

After the game ended 0-0 in normal time, Minerva Punjab won 4-2 in the shootout at the Nagoa Sports Complex in Goa on Tuesday. 

Minerva Punjab had the better of the chances in the first half but a failure to convert them meant the teams entered the break level. However, Aizawl defended stoutly to stretch the tie into the tie-breaker. 

Nike Premier Cup; Minerva Punjab v Aizawl FC

Article continues below

Ajitkumar Meetei, Abishek Verma, Bijo Singh and Thoiba Singh scored for Minerva while Lalchhanhima Sailo missed in the penalty shootout.

As for Aizawl, only David Ramtharlawma and R Lalruatkima scored with Lal Famikima and C Laiphei failing to hit the target.

Minerva Punjab, who won both the previous editions of the tournament, will take on DSK Shivajians in the summit clash on Thursday.