India U-23 beat Rydalmere Lions FC 4-0

Comments (0)
India U-23 XI v Rydalmere Lions FC
AIFF Media
The Blue Tigers concluded their friendlies in Australia with two wins and a defeat

India U-23 defeated Rydalmere Lions FC 4-0 in their final friendly fixture of the Australian tour, on Friday, ahead of the 2018 SAFF (South Asian Football Federation) Cup in September.

Farukh Choudhary (6', 38') and Manvir Singh (74', 77') scored a brace each against the semi-professional Australian outfit.

India began the match on the front footing as Farukh turned in a cross by Sajid Dhot in the sixth minute, just four minutes before Farukh's delivery had to be intercepted by the opponent's backline.

Ashique Kuruniyan and Germanpreet Singh were at hand to create a couple of more chances, wherein the rebound of Farukh's attempt in the 24th minute ensued by Germanpreet shooting over the bar.

In the 38th minute, Farukh was on target once as he converted from a long ball by Lallianzuala Chhangte to give India a two-goal lead going into the break.

Stephen Constantine made a number of changes past the hour mark. Hitesh Sharma, Manvir Singh, Nikhil Poojary and Vignesh Dakshinamurthy replaced the likes of Anirudh Thapa, Sumeet Passi, Chhangte and Ashique.

Poojary initiated a move from the left from where he put Farukh through in the box in the 73rd minute. The latter was brough down and the resultant penalty was burried in the net by Manvir.

That was before the India coach rung in two more changes by bringing in Vinit Rai and Jerry Lalrinzuala for Germanpreet and Subhasish Bose.

Substitutes Vinit and Manvir were there on involved in the fourth goal with the former lobbing the ball for the latter to score his second goal in three minutes.

India will face Sri Lanka on September in their SAFF Cup opener, placed in Group B which also consists of Maldives.

India U-23's starting XI v Rydalmere Lions FC: Vishal Kaith (GK), Sarthak Golui, Sajid Dhot, Salam Ranjan Singh, Subhasish Bose, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Anirudh Thapa, Germanpreet Singh, Ashique Kuruniyan, Sumeet Passi (C), Farukh Choudhary.