News Live Scores

Ange Postecoglou names 30-man Australia squad

04:34 EAT 08/03/2017
Ange Postecoglou Australia v Iraq World Cup qualifying 01092016
Tim Cahill, Tomi Juric, Massimo Luongo and Mitch Langera return to the squad after missing November's 2-2 draw with Thailand.

Australia head coach Ange Postecoglou has named a 30-man squad for two 2018 World Cup qualifiers this month.

The squad will be trimmed to 23 after this weekend's matches, with players being given one final chance to impress the Socceroos boss.

“We have named an extended squad with a few notable returns but we will make a final decision after this weekend’s matches around Australia, Asia and Europe,” Postecoglou said. “With the Asian leagues and some countries in Europe only just starting I wanted to have another look.

“There is also recognition for some players who have been in good form in the A-League and have the characteristics to fit in with some of our experienced players as we move into an important stretch of qualifying."

Australia will face Iraq on March 23 in Tehran and the UAE on March 28 in Sydney.

Full roster

Goalkeepers: Mitchell Langerak (Stuttgart), Mat Ryan (Genk), Danny Vukovic (Sydney FC)

Defenders: Aziz Behich (Bursaspor), Milos Degenek (Yokohama), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg), Rhyan Grant (Sydney FC), Trent Sainsbury (Inter), Brad Smith (Bournemouth), Rhys Williams (Perth Glory), Bailey Wright (Bristol City)

Midfielders: Mustafa Amini (AGF), Ryan Edwards (Partick Thistle), Jackson Irvine (Burton Albion), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa), James Jeggo (Sturm Graz), Massimo Luongo (QPR), Riley McGree (Adelaide), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mark Milligan (Baniyas), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)

Forwards: Nathan Burns (FC Tokyo), Tim Cahill (Melbourne City), Craig Goodwin (Sparta Rotterdam), Chris Ikonomidis (AGF), Tomi Juric (FC Luzern), Robbie Kruse (Liaoning Whowin), Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt), Awer Mabil (Esbjerg fB), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory)