AIFF to host annual Indian football awards in Mumbai

AIFF Media
The beginning of June will see a musical ceremony to celebrate the achievements in I-League and Indian football for the past season...

While the I-League is all set for a grand finale this coming Sunday with the league title still up for grabs, the awards for India's top footballing competition will only be handed out a month later. 

June 8 will see a star studded ceremony in Mumbai organized by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) as part of its gala night to celebrate football in the past season. 

Besides the awards for the performances in the league, there will be awards for the best players in Indian football as well. 

Along with these, the AIFF has also indicated that three special awards will be given out - Uvena Fernandes who became the first Indian to officiate in a FIFA final - when he took charge of the U-17 FIFA Women's World Cup last year, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu for playing in the Europa League and Bengaluru FC for becoming the first ever club to reach the AFC Cup Final. 

The ceremony is going to be a starry affair and the AIFF hopes to invite top celebrities to grace the event as well as performers and musicians to provide the entertainment. 

The I-League will be decided on Sunday, 30th April when Shillong Lajong host Aizawl and Mohun Bagan host Chennai City FC, both games to simultaneously kick-off at 7.05 PM.

Next article:
Mislintat set to leave as Arsenal continue search for technical director
Next article:
James is playing for Bayern future – Kovac
Next article:
Stephane M'Bia terminates contract with Toulouse
Next article:
Martinez signs five-year extension with Atlanta United
Next article:
Juventus vs Milan: TV channel, live stream, squad news & preview