KPL U20: Mathare United beat Gor Mahia to emerge champions

Mathare United beat Gor Mahia youth team to clinch their maiden U-20 title in a tight final played at Nyayo Stadium

Mathare United beat Gor Mahia youth by a solitary goal in the KPL U-20 tournament’s final played on Friday to become the August edition’s champions.

The match started in a lukewarm mode with both teams not showing much intent to score goals but the tempo changed in the last quarter of second half to hand Mathare United their sweet maiden title.

Super-sub Alfayo Oyugi stepped in to score past Ishmail Otieno from a free-kick at the stroke of 90th munites to give coach Gabriel Njoroge the biggest smile of the day.

Prior to this, Henry Juma, Davies Odongo and Nahashon Thiong’o had made notable attempts for Gor Mahia while Lawrence Luvanda was very instrumental for Mathare United. Gor Mahia dispatched Ushuru 2-0 in the semi-finals while Mathare overcame last year’s finalists Kakamega Homeboyz 3-1 in post-match penalties after regulation time had left the sides locked in a 1-1 stalemate.

Ushuru finished second runners up after edging out April’s finalists Kakamega Homeboyz 4-2 in post-match penalties in the third place play off staged at Camp Toyoyo on Thursday.

Mathare United: Job Ochieng, Samuel Semo, Mike Odhiambo, Dennis Wanyoike, Martin Ongori,Musa Oundo (C), Dennis Kamau, Deng Jackson, Enock Momanyi, Lawrence Luvanda, Patrick Chege.

Gor Mahia: Ishmail Otieno (GK), Kevin Otieno, Stephen Otieno, Washington Onyango, Elvis Ochieng, Davies Odongo, Alpha Onyango, Nahashon Thiong’o, Hillary Ojwang, Henry Juma, Ismail Musa.

Subs: Bixente Otieno (GK), Kevinton Machika, Fiston Changu, Joseph Lumumba, Kilonzi Mutuku, Tom Otieno, Peter James.